Home > Books, Quotations > The Five Dysfunctions Of A Team (Part 1)

The Five Dysfunctions Of A Team (Part 1)

Patrick Lencioni’s book is a fictional case study about corporate leadership and its pitfalls. I discovered this book because of my job; what caught my eye was the following statement, which was printed in some recent training material:

If we don’t trust one another, then we cannot be the kind of team that ultimately achieves results.

That hit a little too close to home. So much of effective leadership in any organization is trust, both given and received. It’s a funny thing: on one hand, I need to be as generous with my trust as possible, and on the other, I need to do everything in my power to earn and deserve trust that’s extended to me. Both the “truster” and the “trustee” hold responsibility.

Imagine a basketball coach in the locker room at half-time. He calls the team’s center into his office to talk with him one-on-one about the first half, and then he does the same with the point guard, the shooting guard, the small forward, and the power forward, without any of them knowing what everyone else was talking about. That’s not a team. It’s a collection of individuals.

Did you just hear a sizzle? That was a light bulb going off above my head. A Zen moment, if you will.

It does seem like we don’t really have the same goals in mind . . . we’re all lobbying for more resources for our departments, or trying to avoid getting involved in anything outside our own areas.

I find myself falling into the above pattern all the time. It’s tough to overcome, especially when resources are limited. I suppose it’s due to a lack of vision, or at least a lack of buy in to said vision.

I would rather overstate the problem than understate it, but only for the good of the team.

That’s really good advice. I saw it in action last night, and came away encouraged. A bit overwhelmed at the same time, if such a thing is possible, but still encouraged.

Categories: Books, Quotations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

