Home > Books > My Summer Reading

My Summer Reading

I’ve had something of a reawakening of the “reader within” this summer. Here’s what I’ve read so far, more or less in chronological order.
  • Marva Dawn – Reaching Out Without Dumbing Down
  • James Lastra – Sound Technology And The American Cinema
  • Walt Wangerin, Jr. – The Book Of The Dun Cow
  • James K. A. Smith – Desiring The Kingdom: Worship, Worldview, And Cultural Formation
  • Walt Wangerin, Jr. – The Book Of Sorrows
  • Walt Wangerin, Jr. – As For Me And My House
  • Steven Pressfield – The War Of Art
  • Kem Meyer – Less Clutter, Less Noise
  • Flannery O’Connor – A Good Man Is Hard To Find (And Other Stories)
  • David Peterson – Engaging With God
  • Ted Chiang – Stories Of Your Life And Others
  • George MacDonald – The Curate’s Awakening
  • William Bridges – Managing Transitions
  • George MacDonald – Lilith

And here’s what I’ve got on the docket moving forward:

  • Patrick Lencioni – The Five Dysfunctions Of A Team
  • George MacDonald – Phantastes
  • Annie Dillard – Pilgrim At Tinker Creek
  • John Piper – When I Don’t Desire God
Categories: Books
  1. 26 Aug 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Glad to see this blog! Did I discuss Book of the Dun Cow/Sorrow with you at Hutchmoot? I’d be interested to hear your opinion on the two books. I’ve only read the first, and I’ve heard the second is pretty dark.

    • 30 Aug 2010 at 10:06 am

      I think we did talk about it, but only briefly. I do remember telling someone that I enjoyed the latter a bit more than the former due to its darker and more introspective tone. I think I found more of myself in its portrayal of inner demons.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

